Designed by Richard and William Morrison in 1826, Ballyfin is considered to be the finest neoclassical mansion in Ireland, set in the country’s best 18th Century landscaped park or ‘demesne’.

Following the house’s gradual deterioration, after use as a school followed by dereliction, its new owner commissioned the practice to develop ‘the finest small hotel’. Ballyfin is a designated Protected Structure which limits the degree of intervention permissible in the building fabric.

The original state of the conservatory reflected the overall deleterious state of the Ballyfin fabric. The wrought iron frame of the conservatory was cleaned, repaired and painted in situ. The cast iron perimeter potting shelves and their cast iron supports were also cleaned, repaired and painted.

The building’s luxurious first floor rooms and conservatory have been uniquely restored and decorated with Irish antique furniture and paintings, ensuring its transformation into a five star luxury country house hotel. The main house features fine dining, wine cellars, a lively bar and a large and comfortable library. One of the building’s best features is an iron and glass conservatory, designed by Richard Turner and added in 1851. It was cleaned and repaired and now provides a stunning reception room, connected to the house by a curved glass-vaulted corridor.

We repaired water damaged areas and conserved the decorative plaster ceilings. Former derelict and vandalized interiors have been carefully restored to recreate the lavish interiors for modern guests to enjoy.

An extensive scheme of repair was undertaken in the demesne. Other park features, including a grotto and tower with observatory, were carefully restored for the use and enjoyment of hotel guests.